Mystery and crime books from Australia. News, views, reviews, releases and author appearances - crime fiction in Australia. Crime novels, mystery novels, detective stories, police procedural books, thrillers and soft-boiled mysteries

Wednesday, July 25, 2007

2007 Ned Kelly Award Short Lists

The short lists for the CWAA 2007 Ned Kelly Awards have been released. They will be announced and the awards presented at the Melbourne Writers Festival on 29 August from 6:00 at the Festival Marquee. Entry will be $5.00 and the MC will be Jane Clifton. The MWF web-site also promises that Graeme Blundell and Leigh Redhead will also be attending.

The word is that the competition is particularly tight this year with the True Crime category exceedingly difficult.

Best Crime Novel

Chain of Evidence – Gary Disher (Text)
The Night Ferry – Michael Robotham (Little Brown)
The Unknown Terrorist – Richard Flanagan (Macmillan)
The Cleaner – Paul Cleave (Random House)
Undertow – Peter Corris (Allen & Unwin)
Spider Trap - Barry Maitland (Allen & Unwin)

Best First Crime Novel

The Betrayal of Bindi Mackenzie – Jaclyn Moriaty (Macmillan)
Diamond Dove – Adrian Hyland (Text)
Better Dead Than Never – Laurent Boulanger (C& C International Media Group)
Behind the Night Bazaar – Angela Savage (Text)

Best True Crime

Justice For The Dead – Malcolm Dodd and Beverly Knight (Hachette Livre)
Overboard: The Stories Cruise Ships Don’t Want Told – Gywn Topham (Random House)
Intractable – Bernie Matthews (Macmillan)
Written On The Skin – Liz Porter (Macmillan)
Silent Death – Karen Kissane (Hachette Livre)
Australian Outlaw – Derek Pedley (Sly Ink)
Killing For Pleasure: The Definitive Story of the Snowtown Murders - Debi Marshall (Random House)
The Dodger – Duncan McNab (Macmillan)
Things A Killer Would Know – Paula Doneman (Allen & Unwin)

Naturally, good luck to all those shortlisted.

1 comment:

Angela Savage said...

Thanks for your good wishes Damien. I'm thrilled that Behind the Night Bazaar has been short-listed, but my money's on the lovely Adrian Hyland to win in the first book category for Diamond Dove.